Call for sites submissions

The Council requested details of potential development sites to be submitted through two separate 'call for sites' exercises (January 2014 and October 2015). Further sites were submitted as part of the 2017 consultation. In total approximately 660 sites have been submitted.

The list of submitted sites includes four large-scale proposals for new settlements which are Lee Farm near Sharnbrook (site 622), Thurleigh Airfield (site 630), Land at Twinwoods (site 608 listed under Milton Ernest) and Wyboston Garden Village (site 659).

If you submitted a site to us during the consultation period, please check that it is listed below. If it is missing from the list, please contact the Planning Policy team.

The location of sites submitted can be viewed on the following maps. Sites number 400 onwards are the sites we received in 2015 and sites number 700 onwards are those received in 2017:

The 2017 Consultation Paper included preferred sites for the urban area and alternative site selection options for the Group 1 villages of Bromham, Clapham, Great Barford, Sharnbrook and Wilstead. Site promoters involved with each of the options were asked to provide evidence that they can work together.

The additional information received can be viewed.

Details of the individual site submissions are organised by Town/Parish below:

  • Bedford and Kempston                                                                                                   
  • Biddenham                                                                                                 
  • Bletsoe                                                                                                        
  • Bolnhurst and Keysoe                                                                                                        
  • Bromham                                                                                                   
  • Cardington                                                                                                
  • Carlton                                                                                                       
  • Chawston                                                                                                   
  • Clapham                                                                                                    
  • Colmworth                                                                                                 
  • Cople                                                                                                          
  • Dean and Shelton
  • Eastcotts                                                                                                                      
  • Elstow                                                                                                         
  • Felmersham and Radwell 
  • Great Barford     
  • Great Denham 
  • Harrold                                                              
  • Kempston Rural
  • Knotting and Souldrop
  • Little Staughton
  • Milton Ernest
  • Oakley
  • Odell
  • Pavenham
  • Pertenhall
  • Podington
  • Ravensden
  • Renhold
  • Riseley
  • Roxton                                                             
  • Sharnbrook
  • Stagsden
  • Staploe and Duloe         
  • Stevington
  • Stewartby
  • Swineshead
  • Thurleigh
  • Turvey
  • Wilden
  • Willington
  • Wilstead
  • Wootton
  • Wyboston
  • Wymington
  • Yelden

The sites listed have been put forward by land owners and developers so that the Council can consider them for inclusion in the Local Plan 2035. Not all the submitted sites will be allocated for development.

Site submissions have been published for information only. Please do not send us your comments on these sites at this stage.