The general election in Bedford Borough 2024

Polling station

The General election is set for Thursday 4 July. Bedford Borough residents have until Tuesday 18 June to register to vote. It takes just five minutes to register at and it’s possible to choose whether to vote at a polling station, by post or by proxy.

Last year, the UK Government introduced a requirement for voters to show photo ID when voting at a polling station for some elections. This will apply to the general election on Thursday 4 July.

Laura Church, Returning Officer at Bedford Borough Council, said, “I’d like to remind all Bedford Borough residents to make sure they are registered to vote so they can have their say in the general election on Thursday 4 July. 

“Please don’t forget that photographic ID is now needed for voting at a polling station. Accepted forms of identity include a UK passport, Driving Licence, or disabled blue badge and people can also apply for a free Voter Authority Certificate.”

The deadline to apply for a free Voter Authority Certificate is 5pm, Wednesday 26 June.

The Bedford Borough area is divided into three Parliamentary constituencies, these are Bedford, North Bedfordshire and Mid Bedfordshire. There is one Member of Parliament (MP) per constituency.

The constituency boundaries were revised in 2023. Full details of the changes, along with the current boundaries can be found at

Information about elections and voting in Bedford Borough, along with details of how to register to vote, or apply for a free Voter Authority Certificate, can be found at