Tom Wootton elected Mayor of Bedford

Bedford river scene

Tom Wootton has been elected as Mayor of Bedford Borough.  

As Bedford Borough’s directly elected Mayor he will lead the Council, have considerable decision-making power and will represent the borough at a local and national level.

Tom Wootton has been returned as a councillor for Wyboston and also the elected Mayor of Bedford Borough. Therefore, a vacancy arises in the office of councillor for Wyboston. A by-election will take place within the statutory period.

The total seats now held on Bedford Borough Council are:

Conservative Party – 13 (This does not include Wyboston where a by-election will now take place)

Green Party – 3

Independents – 2

Labour Party – 14

Liberal Democrat – 13

The council is in no overall control.

A full list of the results can be found at: