Skip to main content

Building Control Team

Our Building Control team's vast amount of experience and thorough knowledge of numerous building techniques can help guide your through building regulations.

You can contact any member of our team with your technical questions on the general telephone number or by email. 

General telephone: 01234 718081
Email:  buildingcontrol@bedford.gov.uk

Please do not contact the Building Control Team for matters related to Planning. Go to our planning guidance page for help with planning matters.

Building Control Service Manager

Steven Eyre
Email: steven.eyre@bedford.gov.uk

Principal Building Control Officer (plan checking)

Peter Hazelwood
Email: peter.hazelwood@bedford.gov.uk

North West Area Principal Building Control Officer

(Biddenham, Bletsoe, Bromham, Brickhill ward, Carlton, Clapham, Farndish, Felmersham, Harpur ward, Harrold, Hinwick, Milton Ernest, Oakley, Odell, Pavenham, Podington, Radwell, Sharnbrook, Souldrop, Stevington, Turvey, Wymington, Queens Park ward) 

Bryan Rance
Email: bryan.rance@bedford.gov.uk

North East Area Principal Building Control Officer

(Bolnhurst, Castle ward, Chawston, Colesden, Colmworth, De Pary’s ward, Duloe, Eynesbury, Goldington ward, Honeydon, Keysoe, Knotting, Little Barford, Little Staughton, Lower Dean, Melchbourne, Pertenhall, Putnoe ward, Ravensden, Renhold, Riseley, Shelton, Staploe, Swineshead, Thurleigh, Upper Dean, Wilden, Wyboston, Yielden)

Sarah Bates
Email: sarah.bates@bedford.gov.uk

South East Area Principal Building Control Officer

(Cauldwell ward, Cardington, Cople, Cotton End, Eastcotts, Great Barford, Harrowden, Kingsbrook ward, Newham ward, Roxton, Shortstown, Willington)

Martin Anderson
Email: martin.anderson@bedford.gov.uk

South West Area Principal Building Control Officer

(Elstow, Great Denham, Kempston, Kempston Hardwick, Kempston Rural, Stagsden, Stewartby, Wilstead, Wixams, Wootton)

Russell Williams
Email: russell.williams@bedford.gov.uk 

Access Officer

Stuart O’Dell
Email: stuart.Odell@bedford.gov.uk

Administration support

Tel: 01234 718081

Contact address

Building Control
Bedford Borough Council
Borough Hall
Cauldwell Street
Bedford
MK42 9AP

On this page