Skip to main content

Five former councillors recognised for their service

Five former Bedford Borough councillors have been recognised for their years of dedication to public service.

In a ceremony on Sunday 19 January 2020, former councillor Pat Olney was bestowed the title of honorary Alderwoman alongside former councillors Randolph Charles, Will Hunt, John Mingay and Mark Smith who were conferred the title honorary Alderman.  

Former councillor Randolph Charles was elected to the Borough Council on 6 May 1999, and served continuously for Cauldwell up until the recent election on 2 May 2019. He was Deputy Speaker for 2013/14 and Speaker in 2007/8 and 2014/15.

Will Hunt was elected to the Council in 1996 and represented Kempston West until 2019. Alongside the various committees and sub groups, he has also sat on many sports clubs, associations and boards across the borough and county.

First elected on 7 May 1992, John Mingay served as a Councillor for Newnham until the recent election. In 2003/04, he was the Bedford Borough Council Speaker.

Pat Olney was elected to the Borough Council on 8 May 1986 and served for 33 years as a Councillor for Oakley until the election in May. She was Civic Mayor for 2001/02. She was also the Independent Group Leader 2009-19.

Mark Smith was first elected to the Council in 1995, serving two terms, 1995-04 and 2007-19 May for Kempston Rural. In 2013/14 he was Speaker of the Council.

Mayor of Bedford, Dave Hodgson said “May I congratulate all recipients, for the commendable service to the Council and the communities within the Borough. 

“It’s an honour to present these Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwoman certificates and badges in recognition of the long service and hard work both for the Council and particularly for the people of Bedford Borough”.