Police and Crime Commissioner Election Result

The results of Bedfordshire’s Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) election have now been counted and the results published. Festus Akinbusoye has been elected to the role of Police and Crime Commissioner for the county.

Akinbusoye, Festus                       Conservative Party                                      51,700

Hamill, Patrick                                Independent                                                8,279

Michael, David                               Labour Party                                               42,708

Parmar, Jas                                   Liberal Democrat                                         15,983

Vitiello, Antonio Daniel                   English Democrats                                      3,387

In the second round Mr Akinbuyose secured 8,093 second preference votes for a total of 59793.

Mr Michael secured 8,107 second preference votes for a total of 50,815.

The overall turnout was 24.9 per cent.

The total number of votes cast in Bedfordshire was 123,777

You can see the full results on Luton Council's website. 

Running the PCC election in Bedfordshire was a joint enterprise between Bedford Borough Council, Central Bedfordshire Council and Luton Council. Election teams from each authority combined to provide a coordinated approach to running the election.
In Bedford Borough, the breakdown of the first preference votes is:

Festus Akinbusoye (Con) - 12,250

Patrick Hamill (Ind) - 1,808

David Michael (Lab) - 10,825

Jas Parmar (Lib Dem) - 8,084

Antonio Vitiello (Eng Dem) - 919

In Bedford Borough, in the second round:

Festus Akinbusoye (Con) secured 3,227 of the second preference votes for a total of 15,477

David Michael (Lab) secured 3,293 of the second preference votes for a total of 14,118