Skip to main content

European Parliamentary Elections 2019

Election results 

The results of the 23 May European Parliamentary Elections were announced on Sunday 26 May on Chelmsford City Council’s website.  

Chelmsford City Council is responsible for running the European Parliamentary election for the Eastern region of the UK. 

Statement Under Rule 61

Declaration of Results

Notice of election

European parliamentary elections took place on 23 May 2019.

To view the full details please download the Notice of Election (PDF).

See Statement of parties and individual candidates nominated (PDF).

The European Parliament is based in Brussels (Belgium), Luxembourg and Strasbourg (France) and passes regulations and directives that affect everyone in the European Union (EU) from the north of Scotland to the south of Italy and from the borders of Russia to the Atlantic Ocean.

It deals with issues such as the environment, human rights, consumer rights and economic development.

There are 751 Members of the European Parliament who are elected once every five years by voters right across the 28 Member States of the European Union on behalf of over 500 million citizens.

Bedford Borough is within the Eastern Region of the United Kingdom. Voters elect seven Members to the European Parliament in this region, using the D’Hondt method of proportional representation. The next elections are scheduled for 23 May 2019.

For more information visit the European Parliament website.