Skip to main content

Local elections 2019

Elections took place in Bedford Borough on Thursday 2 May 2019 for:

  • Mayor of Bedford Borough
  • Borough Councillors
  • Parish Councils

The results are displayed below in PDF format:

Borough Council elections

Bedford Borough Council has 40 elected Borough Councillors each representing 1 of 27 Wards within the Bedford Borough area. 

Electors vote for the candidates who are standing for the Ward where they are registered to vote. Details of the Wards and the elections of Councillors are available here.

Local Mayoral election

Mayoral elections in the UK use the Supplementary Vote (SV) system. Under SV, voters select their first and second choices from the list of candidates.

Bedford Borough Council is one of 16 councils in the country to have a directly elected Mayor.

Parish Council elections

Parish Council elections are held every four years, and coincide with both the Mayoral and Borough Council Elections. 

Parish Councils primarily comprise of the villages in the area, but can also be large areas such as Brickhill and Kempston Town.

Further information about elections

Please contact the Electoral Registration Team if you have any questions about the elections.

Tel: 01234 718078