BEDFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL COUNTY COUNCIL ELECTION

Date : 1st May 1997

Division		Candidates	Description	Votes Cast	
Brickhill		Nikolas Charles Hills	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	2292	Elected
Electorate	5729	Domenico De Benedictis	Conservative Party Candidate	1407	
Seats Ballot Papers % Poll	4559 79.58	Tony William James Albone	The Labour & Cooperative Party Candidate	813	
Bromham		Roger Gwynne Jones	Conservative Party Candidate	3179	Elected
Electorate Seats	6648 1	Roger William Jackson	Labour Party	1169	
Ballot Papers % Poll	5429 81.66	Peter Anthony Blaine	Liberal Democrat	1058	
Castle		Rowena Vivien Newbigging	The Labour Party Candidate	1439	Elected
Electorate Seats	4583 1	Christopher Wesley	Conservative Party Candidate	1209	
Ballot Papers % Poll	3370 73.53	Stephen John Lawson	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	661	
Cauldwell		Andrew Thomas Blowers	Labour Co-Op	2570	Elected
Electorate Seats	6187 1	Anthony Connal Hare	Conservative Party Candidate	853	
Ballot Papers % Poll	3994 64.55	Philip Downing Standley	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	447	
Clapham		Arthur Thomas Foster	Conservative Party Candidate	1642	Elected
Electorate Seats	4508 1	Jacqueline Eleanor Warren	Labour Party	1095	
Ballot Papers % Poll	3450 76.53	George Buchanan	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	655	
De Parys		Lynda Eileen Aylett-Green	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	1440	Elected
Electorate Seats	4498	Lewis Michael Stewart Williams	Conservative Party Candidate	1021	
Ballot Papers % Poll	1 3294 73.23	Charles Rowland Baily	Labour Party Candidate	791	
Goldington		Conrad Holden Longmore	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	1727	Elected
Electorate Seats	5325 1	David Anthony Grugeon	The Labour and Co-Operative Party Candidate	1411	
Ballot Papers % Poll	3928 73.77	Valerie Mary Fulford	Conservative Party Candidate	707	
Gt.Barford & Wilshamstead		Richard Ivin Payne	Conservative Party Candidate	2689	Elected
Electorate	7185	Pauline Karen Curl	Labour Party Candidate	1548	
Seats Ballot Papers % Poll	1 5483 76.31	Peter Charles Harper	Liberal Democrat & Focus Team	1181	
Harpur		Andrew Dodgshon	Labour Party	1983	Elected
Electorate Seats	6090 1	Jean Maud Pilgrim	Conservative Party Candidate	1285	
Ballot Papers % Poll	4101 67.34	Michael Anthony Murphy	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	776	

BEDFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL COUNTY COUNCIL ELECTION

Date : 1st May 1997

Division		Candidates	Description	Votes Cast	
Harrold		Phyllis Gershon	Conservative Party Candidate	2520	Elected
Electorate Seats	5930 1	Anthea Cooke	Labour Party Candidate	1207	
Ballot Papers % Poll	4645 78.33	Jacqueline Anne Smithson	Liberal Democrat & Focus Team	869	
Kempston East		Gillian Kay Burley	Labour and Co-Operative Party	2565	Elected
Electorate Seats	7303 1	Jagdish Singh	Conservative	1501	
Ballot Papers % Poll	5384 73.72	Christopher John Hall	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	897	
70 1 011	70.72	Michael James Gurr	Independent	311	
Kempston West		Olga Wesley	Labour Party Candidate	2277	Elected
Electorate Seats	6414 1	James Morris Devenish	Conservative Party Candidate	1627	
Ballot Papers % Poll	4594 71.62	lan James White	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	690	
Kingsbrook		Douglas Tony Patrick Mitchell	Labour/Co-Operative	2122	Elected
Electorate Seats	4946 1	Robert John Rigby	Conservative Party Candidate	747	
Ballot Papers % Poll	3445 69.65	Terence John Dunning	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	576	
Newnham		William Menzies Muir	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	1794	Elected
Electorate Seats	6098 1	Charles George Rose	Conservative Party Candidate	1613	
Ballot Papers % Poll	4705 77.16	James Daniel Grugeon	Labour Party	1246	
North East Bedfordshire		Alexander Philip Hendry	Conservative Party Candidate	2923	Elected
Electorate Seats	5841	Linda Ann Borrett	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	886	
Ballot Papers % Poll	1 4707 80.59	Terence Carroll	Labour & Co-Operative Party Candidate	846	
Putnoe		Ralph Frank Hall	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	2143	Elected
Electorate	5374	Paul Stephen Sinclair	The Conservative Party Candidate	1483	
Seats Ballot Papers % Poll	1 4311 80.22	Robert Frank Atkins	Labour Party Candidate	653	
Queens Park		Gordon Colling	Labour/Co-Op	2486	Elected
Electorate Seats	6266 1	Joanne Tracey Natalie Nurse	The Conservative Party Candidate	835	
Ballot Papers % Poll	4013 64.04	Paul Anthony Charles Smith	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	524	
Wootton		David Reedman	Conservative Party Candidate	2154	Elected
Electorate	6021	Andrew Richard Asquith	Labour Party	1482	
Seats Ballot Papers % Poll	1 4733 78.61	Martin Richard Parker	Liberal Democrat and Focus Team	1035	