BEDFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL BOROUGH COUNCIL ELECTION

Date : 6th May 1999

Ward		Candidates	Description	Votes Cast	
Brickhill		Eric Threapleton	Conservative Brickhill Community	1110	Elected
		·	Action Team		
Electorate Seats Ballot Papers	5833 1 2466	Raymond Waterhouse	Brickhill Liberal Democrat Focus Team	1012	
% Poll	42.28	Yvonne Lesley Anderson	The Labour Party Candidate	342	
Bromham		Dean Gordon Laley	The Conservative Party Candidate	1150	Elected
Electorate Seats	5188 1	Roger William Jackson	The Labour and Co-operative Party Candidate	307	
Ballot Papers % Poll	1671 32.21	Robert Ian Howker	Bromham Liberal Democrat Focus Team	212	
Castle	4500	Christopher Peter Roderick Whitehead	The Labour Party Candidate	862	Elected
Electorate Seats Ballot Papers	4599 1 1704	Robert John Rigby	Conservative Castle Ward Community Action Team	650	
% Poll	37.05	Stephen James Lawson	Castle Liberal Democrat Focus Team	192	
Cauldwell		Randolph Charles	The Labour Party Candidate	1201	Elected
Electorate Seats	6130 1	Janet Pilgrim	Conservative Cauldwell Community Action Team	201	
Ballot Papers % Poll	1579 25.76	Anita Joan Gerard	Cauldwell Liberal Democrat Focus Team	167	
Clapham		Arthur Thomas Foster	The Conservative Party Candidate	419	Elected
Electorate Seats	2773 1	Jennifer Mary Jackson	The Labour and Co-operative Party Candidate	418	
Ballot Papers % Poll	1026 37.00	Giorgio Garofalo	Clapham Liberal Democrat Focus Team	184	
De Parys		Neal Bath	De Parys Liberal Democrat Focus Team	955	Elected
Electorate Seats	5668 1	Terence Roger Rigby	Conservative De Parys Community Action Team	872	
Ballot Papers % Poll	2168 38.25	Charles Rowland Baily	The Labour Party Candidate	334	
Goldington		Anthony Victor Ruffin	Goldington Liberal Democrat Focus Team	1006	Elected
Electorate Seats	5255 1	Laurence John Evans	The Labour Party Candidate	730	
Ballot Papers % Poll	1882 35.81	Valerie Mary Fulford	Conservative Goldington Community Action Team	140	
Great Barford		Carole Maxwell Ellis	The Conservative Party Candidate	488	Elected
Electorate Seats	1968 1	Richard Leslie Crane	The Labour & Co-operative Party Candidate	136	
Ballot Papers % Poll	701 35.62	Veronica Jane Harvey	Great Barford Liberal Democrat Focus Team	75	

BEDFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL BOROUGH COUNCIL ELECTION

Date : 6th May 1999

Ward		Candidates	Description	Votes Cast	
Harpur		Ian Robert James Nicholls	The Labour Party Candidate	834	Elected
Electorate Seats Ballot Papers	5952 1 1477	Jean Maud Pilgrim	Harpur Ward Conservative Party Candidate	466	
% Poll	24.82	Susan Barbara Vogel	Harpur Liberal Democrat Focus Team	173	
Kempston East	724/	David Thomas Lewis	The Labour and Co-operative Party Candidate	1157	Elected
Electorate Seats Ballot Papers % Poll	7346 1 2180 29.68	Richard Douglas Hyde	Conservative Party Community Action Team	800	
70 T OII	27.00	Jacqueline Anne Smithson	Kempston East Liberal Democrat Focus Team	203	
Kempston Rural		Sarah Jane Fogarty	Kempston Rural Liberal Democrat Focus Team	482	Elected
Electorate Seats Ballot Papers	2231 1 1095	David Reedman	The Conservative Party Candidate	475	
% Poll	49.08	Adrien Gordon Beardmore	The Labour Party Candidate	133	
Kempston West		Christopher Thurson Black	The Labour Party and Co-operative Candidate	1023	Elected
Electorate Seats Ballot Papers	6561 1 2024 30.85	Charlotte Nicola Attenborough	Conservative Party Community Action Team	875	
% Poll	30.65	Philip Downing Standley	Kempston West Liberal Democrat Focus Team	113	
Kingsbrook	4001	Shirley Eve McKay	Kingsbrook Liberal Democrat Focus Team	847	Elected
Electorate Seats Ballot Papers	4901 1 1669 34.05	Frank Garrick	The Labour and Co-operative Party Candidate	696	
% Poll	34.03	Janet Anne Suter	Conservative Kingsbrook Community Action Team	119	
Putnoe		Rosemary Jean Bootiman	Putnoe Liberal Democrat Focus Team	1158	Elected
Electorate Seats	5381 1	Denise Coates	Conservative Party Putnoe Community Action Team	502	
Ballot Papers % Poll	1882 34.97	David Kennedy Lukes	The Labour Party Candidate	217	
Queens Park		Muhammad Siddiq Khan	The Labour and Co-operative Party Candidate	1420	Elected
Electorate Seats Ballot Papers % Poll	6238	Michael Lewis Stewart Williams	Conservative Community Action Team	328	
	1994 31.97	Michael Anthony Murphy	Queens Park Liberal Democrat Focus Team	219	

BEDFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL BOROUGH COUNCIL ELECTION

Date : 6th May 1999

Ward		Candidates	Description	Votes Cast	
Sharnbrook		William Joseph Bates	Independent	412	Elected
Electorate Seats	2101 1	Robert Stanley Pearson	The Conservative Party Candidate	331	
Ballot Papers % Poll	969 46.12	Anthea Mabel Cooke	The Labour Party Candidate	181	
		Christopher John Hall	Sharnbrook Liberal Democrat Focus Team	44	
Wootton		Mark William Smith	Independent	1140	Elected
Electorate Seats	3955 1	lan James White	Wootton Liberal Democrat Focus Team	418	
Ballot Papers % Poll	1824 46.12	Vivian Frederick Suter	Conservative Party Candidate	168	
		Paban Sharma	The Labour Party Candidate	93	