Welcome to Bedford Borough Council

 
Our Services A - Z :
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
 
 

You are here: Home Page > Leisure and Culture > Sports Development > Over 70s

Over 70s

 

Are you over 70 years old and fancy giving our gentle activity sessions a go? All abilities are welcome and you will receive coaching in a friendly atmosphere.  You do not need to book and for £4.00 you will also receive a tea/coffee voucher for after the session. Classes are at Bedford Central Library, and Bedford Athletics Stadium with a choice of three different days a week at various times.   Sessions include different activities such as Fitness Pilates, Chair-based Pilates, various sports, line dancing, stretch and balance, and movement to music.  Please see the timetables below:- 

 

Bedford Central Library - Gentle Exercise Classes

  • Harpur Street, Bedford, MK40 1PG
  • Mondays* 11.15am to 12.15pm 
  • £4 per session, no need to book!
  • All abilities welcome!  

* Except Public Holidays or when notified

Date Activity
Monday 17th September Yoga
Monday 24th September Stretch and Balance
Monday 1st October Stretch and Balance
Monday 8th October Stretch and Balance
Monday 15th October Line Dancing
Monday 22nd October Movement to Music
Monday 29th October Movement to Music
Monday 5th November Line Dancing
Monday 12th November Stretch and Balance
Monday 19th November Stretch and Balance
Monday 26th November Line Dancing
Monday 3rd December Line Dancing

 

Bedford International Athletics Stadium - Gentle Exercise Classes

  • Barkers Lane, Bedford, MK41 9SB
  • Wednesdays* 2:30-3:30pm 
  • £4 per session, no need to book!
  • All abilities welcome!

  * Except when notified

Date Sports Hall/Exercise Room
Wednesday 19th September Walking Football or Table Tennis or Fitness Pilates
Wednesday 26th September Walking Football  or Table Tennis or Fitness Pilates
Wednesday 3rd October Hockey  or Table Tennis or  Fitness Pilates
Wednesday 10th October Hockey or Table Tennis or Fitness Pilates
Wednesday 17th October Basketball or Table Tennis or Fitness Pilates
Wednesday 24th October Basketball or Table Tennis or Fitness Pilates
Wednesday 31st October Rounders or Table Tennis or Fitness Pilates
Wednesday 7th November Rounders or Table Tennis or Fitness Pilates
Wednesday 14th November Badminton or Table Tennis or Fitness Pilates
Wednesday 21st November Badminton or Table Tennis or Fitness Pilates
Wednesday 28th November Handball or Table Tennis or Fitness Pilates
Wednesday 5th December Handball or Table Tennis or Fitness Pilates

 

 

Bedford Central Library - Chair-based Exercise Fitness Pilates

  • Harpur Street, Bedford, MK40 1PG
  • Thursdays*   - 11.15am-12.15pm
  • £4 per session, no need to book!
  • All abilities welcome!

  * Except when notified

Date Activity
Thursday 20th September Chair-based Fitness Pilates
Thursday 27th September Chair-based Fitness Pilates
Thursday 4th October Chair-based Fitness Pilates
Thursday 11th October Chair-based Fitness Pilates
Thursday 18th October Chair-based Fitness Pilates
Thursday 25th October Chair-based Fitness Pilates
Thursday 1st November Chair-based Fitness Pilates
Thursday 8th November Chair-based Fitness Pilates
Thursday 15th November Chair-based Fitness Pilates
Thursday 22nd November Chair-based Fitness Pilates
Thursday 29th November Chair-based Fitness Pilates
Thursday 6th December Chair-based Fitness Pilates

What is it?

Welcome to this exciting programme of exercise classes aimed at over 70’s. The exercise sessions are aimed at those who would like to try something new in a relaxed, informal environment with other similar minded people.

The classes are ideal for adults who may never have tried sport or physical activity before and would now like to have a go at something new or for adults who might have tried an activity a long time ago and now want to return to it.

The sessions are suitable for complete beginners as well as people who may have had some experience and are run by experienced and qualified coaches.

What should I bring?

  • You should wear comfortable clothing and footwear
  • Bring a drink
  • All other equipment (if necessary) will be provided

 

How do I book?

You do not need to book for these sessions, just turn up on the day and pay your £4 on the door. Please arrive in plenty of time as places are allocated on a first come first served basis.

For more information please contact the Sports Development Unit on 01234 718835 or email mandy.atkins@bedford.gov.uk

 

Don't Miss

Kite Festival

Bedford Borough is a vibrant area to live in with an abundance of leisure opportunities for residents and visitors. We pride ourselves on offering a fantastic programme of cultural events throughout the year, and providing a wide range of affordable health opportunities, through our quality parks, award winning leisure centres and sports development work.

 


Stay Connected
Sign up for email alerts!